Our Leagues

AFL London

First formed in 1989, AFL London was formerly known as the British Australian Rules Football League (BARFL).   Eight clubs participated in the inaugural season in 1990.

Today it boasts eight teams and 27 sides spread across five leagues, including two women’s leagues.

Central & Northern England

The Central & Northern England Australian Football League was established in 2010 and has been home to some of the fiercest competition outside of the capital.

Currently made up of five sides, the Manchester Mosquitoes have won the last five Grand Finals.

Southern England

In 2018, the Southern England Australian Football League (SEAFL) teamed up with the Welsh Australian Rules Football League (WARFL) to compete together over an entire season.

Get Involved


AFL England is committed to growing the game of Australian rules football for all ages. The Clapham Cubs were the first junior club to be set up, but they will soon be joined by more as a national junior program to encourage more youth participation is unveiled.


The introduction of the National University League (NUL) in Autumn 2018 will give teams from Oxford, Cambridge and Birmingham, as well as newer teams from other universities, the first-ever opportunity to battle it out for the title of university champions.

National Program

Great Britain Bulldogs

The Principal Great Britain Bulldogs represents Great Britain in 18-a-side international Australian rules football. They have appeared in every AFL International Cup, the Australian rules equivalent of the World Cup.

Great Britain Swans

The Principal Great Britain Swans represents Great Britain in 18-a-side international Australian rules football. The Swans were established in 2016 and are the reigning European champions.

England Dragonslayers

The England Dragonslayers represent England in 9-a-side international Australian rules football. They are four-time and reigning Euro Cup champions, having won the title in 2008, 2009, 2013 and 2017.

England Vixens

The England Vixens represent England in 9-a-side international Australian rules football. They were founded in 2014 and since then have never failed to make the Euro Cup final, winning the tournament in 2015 and 2017.


2016 AFL Europe Championship


2016 AFL Europe Championship


2017 AFL Euro Cup


2017 Euro Cup

Be Part Of It

Find a Club

Want to know where your local club is? Using our handy interactive map, you can find the one nearest you and information on how to contact them.


Are you a master strategist? Do you know how to get the best out of your players? If so, why not get involved in becoming a coach for one of our many Australian rules football teams.


Ever wanted to become an umpire? Australian rules football relies on its umpires and AFL England is looking for those enthusiastic and passionate enough to join the umpiring team.

New Clubs

No club near you? Get in touch with AFL England and we can help you set up a new club, whether that’s men’s, women’s, juniors or combined!

Contact Us