AFL England

England Dragonslayers

The England Dragonslayers were formed in 2007. Players are drawn from all round the country including each regional league and AFL London.

The ‘Slayers have a proud history; they have been crowned European 9-a-side EU (Euro) Cup Champions three times- more than any other country to date. This included back to back competitions  in 2008 (Czech Republic) and 2009 (Croatia) and then once again in 2013 (France). Even in between the successful years of 2009 and 2013, the Dragonslayers never finished outside of the top four in Europe, including two bronze medals in 2011 and 2012. More recently the boys were just pipped at the post by the Danes, coming 2nd in the 2015 Euro Cup.

Most successful Dragonslayer players include Lee Tarn and Mark Todd (3 EU/Euro Cup wins), Adam Ballard, Martyn Hinchey, Rob Kerr, Alastair McKinnell and Will Worthington (2 EU/Euro Cup wins).

Axios Euro Cup in Bordeaux. Euro Cup Final 2013 v France.

EU/Euro Cup history

2007 (Germany) – 3rd

2008 (Czech Republic) – Winners!

2009 (Croatia) – Winners!2013 Euro Cup winning squad

2010 (Italy) – 4th

2011 (Ireland) – 3rd

2012 (Scotland) – 3rd

2013 (France) – Winners!

2014 (London) – 6th

2015 (Croatia) – 2nd

2016 (Portugal) – 3rd

Training weekends

In preparation for the Euro Cup, the Dragonslayers hold at least one open training weekend per year- usually in June. These selection weekends give all players who wish to be considered for selection the chance to train as a group, impress in practice games and forge a considerable team spirit. The weekends are also a brilliant opportunity for newer players to improve their overall skills.

Following the training weekend, the highly anticipated Tri-Nations tournament which is contested each year in early-September between England, The Welsh Red Dragons and the Scottish Clansmen. This competition is used by all teams as vital preparation for the Euro Cup which follows later in the month. Each team plays the other teams in two short games to replicate the Euro Cup format which has lots of short games in one day. The Dragonslayers have won this competition each time it has been held since it’s conception in 2011.

Team Management

Head coach: Garth Nevin (Sheffield Thunder)
Team manager: TBC
Physio: Clare Avenell (Chippenham Redbacks)
Captain: Matt Whiteley (Huddersfield Rams)