Men’s Football

AFL England currently manages five Men’s leagues across the country:

AFL London

First formed in 1989, AFL London was formerly known as the British Australian Rules Football League (BARFL).   Eight clubs participated in the inaugural season in 1990. Of the foundation teams, four still survive in West London, North London, Wimbledon (formerly the London Hawks) and Wandsworth.

Today it boasts eight teams and 27 sides spread across five leagues, including two women’s leagues .

With more than 20 years of history, AFL London is one of the oldest competitions outside Australia, and arguably the strongest in terms of player numbers and quality of football.

Central & Northern England

The Central & Northern England league was established in 2010 and has been home to some of the fiercest competition outside of the capital.

Currently made up of five sides, in recent years there has also been the emergence of women’s football in the area.


Southern England

The smallest of the AFL England leagues, 2018 sees an exciting season for the Southern England league, as they join with the Welsh Australian rules football league to compete over an entire season.

This year they welcome back the Portsmouth Pirates to the competition after a short absence.

Affiliated Clubs

Three clubs that are situated in England currently play in other leagues. The Bristol Dockers and Bath and Wiltshire Redbacks play in the Welsh Australian Rules Football League (WARFL), while the Tyne Tees Tigers play their football in the Scottish Australian Rules Football League (SARFL).