Great Britain Swans


The Great Britain women's national Australian rules football team is known as the Great Britain Swans.

The team is made up of some of the best British-born players from the clubs of England, Wales and Scotland, as well as others playing their footy overseas.

The GB Swans were established in January 2016 by two England Vixens players, Charlie Eales and Lisa Wilson. The team was created with its sights set on entering the International Cup in Melbourne in 2017.

In 2017, the GB Swans made their first appearance at the International Cup in Melbourne, finishing third. This was the best-ever performance by a GB team at an International Cup.

The Swans are currently coached by Ian Mitchell and the team is managed by Phil Martin.

If you or a player at your club want to be considered for the GB Swans squad, please email for more information

Last Result

International Cup Performances

2017 - Third

Great Britain Swans 5.2 (32)
United States Freedom 4.1 (25)

European Championship Performances

2016 - Winner

Great Britain Swans 1.2 (8)
Ireland Banshees 0.2 (2)

2019 - Third


Most appearances

19 - Louise Darby

Most Best on Ground Awards

8 - Danni Saulter

Leading goal-kicker

13 - Danni Saulter

Most goals in a game

4 - Stacey Hughes & Rania Turner-Ramadan vs. Pakistan
International Cup - August 2017

Highest Score

20.22 (142) vs Pakistan
International Cup - August 2017

Lowest Score

0.0 (0) vs Canada
London Footy Carnival - August 2017

Greatest Winning margin

142 points vs Pakistan
International Cup - August 2011

Greatest Losing margin

31 points vs Canada
International Cup - August 2017


All-Time Swan Results

All-time Swans Appearances