National University League

The History

Established in 2018, the National University League was launched as the country's first Australian rules football league.

It features teams from the Universities of Oxford, Cambridge and Birmingham, along with a Universities of South Wales side made up of players from universities in the area.

In its inaugural season, Oxford won the Men's Division, defeating the University of Birmingham in the Grand Final by a  score of 17.12 (114) to 6.6 (42) thanks to nine goals from 2018/19 leading goalkicker Ben Doherty.

Meanwhile, the Birmingham defeated Oxford in the Women's Division Grand Final 5.11 (41) to 3.7 (25).

The 2019/20 season was curtailed due by the coronavirus pandemic before the Grand Finals could take place. For that reason, no major premiers were awarded.

Birmingham were named minor premiers after going undefeated during the Men's NUL regular season, with the Universities of South Wales being named minor premiers of the Women's division.



Want your university to get involved with the NUL? Email for more details!

The Clubs

2019/20 Season

Women's Division