The AFL Europe Championship 2019 Returns to London!

Europe’s Flagship AFL Competition Returns to England

Great Britain Bulldogs and Swans Looking to Retain Both Titles

June 7, 2018 – AFL Europe have announced that for the second time in a row, the AFL Europe Championship, Europe’s premier Australian rules football event, is to take place in London in October 2019. The event will be hosted by the Wimbledon Hawks Football Club, in conjunction with AFL Europe.

Wednesday 9th October 2019 – Carnival Round
Thursday 10th October 2019 – Semi Final Round
Saturday 12th October 2019 – Finals Round

AFL England president Jason Hill says that he was delighted that London was once again named as host of the Europe Championships in 2019.

“The Europe Championship in 2016 was a great success for our Great Britain Men’s and Women’s sides,” said Hill. “We are looking forward to welcoming our European counterparts to England in preparation for IC2020 down under.

“On the back of a very successful international period for England and Britain we look forward to building on that success by delivering a great tournament for Europe!”

Meanwhile, GB Bulldogs Head Coach Dean Thomas says the event will be a “fantastic advertisement” for the sport in Europe.

“As hosts, we are looking to putting on the most inclusive, entertaining and competitive AFL Europe Championship to date. If every eligible nation makes this competition their primary goal for 2019, it will be a fantastic advertisement for the sport in Europe and a keenly contested event.

“For us, it is a rare opportunity to play for their country in a high-level competition in front of family and friends. We expect to have a big number of players pushing for selection and making selection for this event their goal over the next 12 months.”

GB Swans Head Coach Ian Mitchell echoed Thomas’ sentiments.

“We are delighted to be in a position that we can host Europe’s premier AFL tournament again, and look forward to welcoming the European female footballing community to London again next year.

“The growth of women’s football in recent years has been fantastic to see and as such, we hope to see next year’s Europe Championships showcasing the best talent we have to offer as a continent.”

Past Great Britain AFL Europe Championship Performances

2016 – London, United Kingdom
Men’s Grand Final: Great Britain Bulldogs 7.9.51 def. Irish Warriors 4.5.29
Women’s Grand Final: Great Britain Swans 1.2.8 def. Irish Banshees 0.2.2

2013 – Dublin, Ireland
Men’s Grand Final: Great Britain Bulldogs 6.8.44 def. by Irish Warriors 7.3.45

2010 – Copenhagen, Denmark & Scania, Sweden
Men’s Third Place Play-off: Great Britain Bulldogs 3.11.29 def. by Sweden Elks 5.9.39

About the AFL Europe Championship
The AFL Europe Championship is an Australian rules football competition played between 18-a-side European national teams. It is organised by AFL Europe and held every three years. The inaugural competition was played in Sweden and Denmark in August 2010. Great Britain are the defending champions in both the men’s and women’s competition.

About AFL England
As the governing body for Australian rules football in England, AFL England aims to grow, develop and promote the sport of across the country.

Our Mission:

  • To lead the awareness, growth, development and promotion of the sport in England
  • To create a pathway between the English and Australian game
  • To work in partnership with AFL Europe in reaching mutual goals, maintaining similar values, while working to grow the game on a domestic level

For more information head to or email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.